Opinion: API Master Test Kit is overrated for the average hobbyist

Schuyler

I'm still pretty new to the hobby so if you're new take this with a grain of salt unless some long time hobbyists pitch in and agree.

Starting out there were a lot of people who strongly encouraged me to get an API Master Test Kit because it's much more reliable and accurate. But I held off for a few months and asked for it as a Christmas present.

After getting it, my experience has been that it takes a lot more time and effort to test, the results are just as difficult to read, and it takes up way more space. On top of that the tests boil down to ammonia and nitrites which all you really care about is if they're there or not, nitrates which unless you're running a fine-tuned high energy aquascape you don't need that precise of reading on, and PH which you only really need a high precision on if you are breeding specific fish (for the average hobbyist this just leads to chasing parameters).

I think pushing the liquid test adds one more thing hobbyists feel like they need to buy and raises the perceived barrier of entry for new people.

What are your thoughts?

If you disagree, tell me how I'm wrong.

• Like 7

Idk, I personally have always found the test strips are harder to read. But I do agree that the Master Test kit isn't a complete necessity, I just think its a better option than the test strips especially when you are trying to cycle a new tank or are having issues in a running tank.  When things are running smoothly, I will just use a test strip to make sure nothing seems way off.

• Like 1

Agreed with @NOLANANO  When my tanks were new the test kit was a must to help cycle. I personally believe that, when used correctly and exactly to the instructions provided, the liquid test is more accurate. Now that all my tanks have been up and running for years, test strips are quicker and simply confirm that everything is where it should be.