Shrimp water change

smm333

I have a 20 long shrimp tank that I stocked with shrimp in late December.  I've been terrified to do a water change because it's the 1st tank I did with remineralize ro water. I finally did it today! I only switched out maybe 20%. The tank is well planted and only has 13 shrimp,  3 mystery snails and some tiny ramshorn and bladder snails.

At least 2 shrimp are berried and at least 2 are saddled,  so I wanted to do a water change before babies arrive. That's a whole new level of stress, lol! Is it obvious I'm a shrimp newbie? 🤣

20230203_220350.jpg

• Like 1
  • Love 1

It's definitely important for shrimp to have water changes regularly. There is a lot of conflicting information on this topic and I don't want to skew your results with my opinions.  I would encourage you to check out the video above and watch many more of his videos. it's a great resource.

There are plenty of people here that can guide you through the process.

The safest way is going to be to prep water in such a way that you match the tank as best you can. Keep in mind that the tank is going to be slowly building up in KH/GH due to evaporation. Plants and shrimp will also use up minerals so there is some loss there as well. Having a good maintenance system as shown in the video keeps things stable, which does give you what shrimp need.... Stability.

Best of luck.

• Like 2

On 2/7/2023 at 8:31 PM, nabokovfan87 said:

It's definitely important for shrimp to have water changes regularly. There is a lot of conflicting information on this topic and I don't want to skew your results with my opinions.  I would encourage you to check out the video above and watch many more of his videos. it's a great resource.

There are plenty of people here that can guide you through the process.