Apistogramma Diet

Chase Turner

I’ve kept various types of fish that have done well, but I’m still relatively new to the hobby. I’m setting up a planted Apistogramma tank in the next few weeks. There are plenty of resources out there on ideal water parameters, habitat preferences, and other general care information…except diets. I have struggled to find a good source for what and how often to feed a breeding pair of Apistos. Any advice will be helpful. Thanks!

On 2/3/2023 at 8:22 PM, Chase Turner said:

I have struggled to find a good source for what and how often to feed a breeding pair of Apistos.

Well from what @anewbie mentioned before in my topic, even those lots of info about them in general even changes from one apisto breed to another, even though people generalize all apistos just like one.

I have no  idea if all apistos diet is exactly the same, but it seems like some of their stuff may vary from one species to another, even though people generalize them all as apistos. Which apistos do you have? It may maybe help you to get a response faster  just in case there is any species related effect. 

In aquarium coop's blog post it says "They’re best with live food, like BBS (baby brine shrimp), glass worms, larvae, other kinds of worms, and similar foods of that nature."

Edited by Lennie
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

For food and domestic bred fishes - flakes; fluval bug bites; pretty much anything is fine but live food is always preferred - brine shrimp, white worms, vinegar eel, ... 

As for scaping and water condition et all - if you are researching stuff then you should be mentioning a specific species ... 

• Thanks 1

On 2/3/2023 at 12:39 PM, anewbie said:

For food and domestic bred fishes - flakes; fluval bug bites; pretty much anything is fine but live food is always preferred - brine shrimp, white worms, vinegar eel, ... 

I second this. 

I have also noticed the following about apisto eating habits . . .