What Are You NOT Allowed To Keep In Your State?

FLFishChik

So, relatively speaking, I am a newbie, more so the aquatic plant side than the fish side. However, as I was looking into possibly adding floating plants to my growing Aqua garden, I sadly discovered that the one plant I really wanted to obtain is…. ILLEGAL in my state!!!! **gasp** “oh dear water lettuce, you were but a fleeting dream…”

Yep, Dwarf Water Lettuce is a no no in Florida. It’s suuuper invasive, takes over waterways, chokes out native plants and fish, eats small pets and children… and it sent me looking into other “aquarium” life that is forbidden, like any and all species of Piranha (not that I wanted them, but know others keep them) and it made me wonder…

what are plants or fish that YOU’VE wanted or looked for only to discover they weren’t allowed in your state?

Edited by FLFishChik
  • Like 2

I think Salvinia is the same way here in California. Not entirely sure if it's all of it or just the bigger of the species. Salvinia minima is one I want to get here soon.

There's a lot of bad issues with people flushing things or releasing things in the wild when they decide they can't care for it. Plants go to compost and livestock doesn't go to the lake/river.

Found this...

Pretty cool little tool.

https://www.invasive.org/browse/subinfo.cfm?sub=2785

Edited by nabokovfan87
added link
  • Like 1

On 2/2/2023 at 7:40 PM, Mynameisnobody said:

@FLFishChik I am also in Florida and luckily there isn’t much that we can’t keep. I’m much more bummed we can’t keep Asian Arowanna and Channa Barca, but that’s a nation wide ban. 

But…. I wanted waaater lettuuuuce! *shakes fist in sad frustration**

On 2/2/2023 at 7:52 PM, Theplatymaster said:
Edited by FLFishChik
  • Like 2