Cycling with and without quick start bacteria

Darax

On 12/28/2022 at 9:36 AM, Darax said:

Has anyone done a test to see if getting a tanks environment to breakdown ammonia to nitrate with archaea in a bottle works faster compared to without?

Someone gets me a few 10G's and I'll run it.  No big deal. 😂

I have had some experience with and without, starting up tanks.  My estimation and experience has been that without the bottle you're looking at 3-6 weeks to cycle something.  With the bottle you can do it in as little as 7-14 days.  No scientific notes, and a trial of one person's experiences, but it's about half the time.

Generally speaking, when I see a tank start to go "off" it's one the tools I use to get things back on track.  Especially when you start getting that bacterial snot mess.

• Like 1

Well. Kinda?  Not very scientific but here's my story:

When I first got into this hobby a little over a year ago I fell into the trap many people fall into of misinformation. I was told "oh yeah just set the tank up for 24 hours and you will be fully ready for fish!"  We all know how that ends up. I was then doing a fish in cycle. 

The first night I saw them gasping for air at the surface. I actually did have a bottle of fluval cycle. I had already put in the recommended dosage. After a couple of hours I looked up online and it said you can't over dose it because it's just adding more bacteria so I added a 2nd dose. A couple of hours later they were still gasping so I put in a 3rd dose. A couple of hours later, still gasping, I poured in the whole bottle. A couple of hours after that they stopped gasping.