Is there a chart/table with all water parameters and their explanation?

Schuyler

I know ACO has put out a lot of videos about water parameters and those have been helpful but it seems like it would also be nice to just have one cheat sheet that has the common names, a quick explanation, and maybe common ranges (ie what is generally considered "moderately hard"?)

I feel like I'm starting to get a handle on it but I still find myself asking stuff like "Wait, is TDS the same as total alkalinity or is it GH?"

Most of the parameters have at least two names and some have different measurements (degrees vs ppm). This was really confusing getting into the hobby.

Does anyone know of a good cheat sheet like that? If not I may try putting something together but I'm no graphic designer...

I can’t remember ever running across a comprehensive chart on the parameters needed for different species.  That’s typically something you just have to look up for each species you want to keep.  Most species are adaptable enough that the GH/KH/pH parameters aren’t too important as long as they’ve adapted to your parameters and your parameters are reasonably consistent.

In general, most cory species are soft water species, but some do come from harder water.  That said, most cory species are adaptable enough that it doesn’t matter as long as your tank parameters aren’t outrageously shifted to an extreme.  Same can be said with most pleco species, but many will breed just fine in the very hard water we have around here.  There certainly are species that are less adaptable but if you buy from a breeder that has similar water parameters, you should be OK.

Aqadvisor.com will usually look at that for you if they have each specie’s parameters programmed into its database.  It will pop up an alert if you list species that have widely divergent preferences or needs.  Then you’ll need to do some reading on how adaptable your species is, or isn’t.