Internal filter for shrimp tank

TeeJay

I have been thinking about adding a small nano internal filter to go in my shrimp sanctuary tank to help out with my sponge filters. Of course it needs to be shrimp and shrimpletts safe. Or as safe as possible. I have never used these style of filters before only sponges and hob. Any help would be appreciated.

• Like 1

So, I had a tiny internal filter on a nano tank that had Cherry shrimp in it, I was afraid they would get sucked into the intake but because of the shape of the intake, I couldn’t use a pre filter sponge ( the intake was part of the unit as a whole) so I ended up covering it with some pant hose ( ankle size) and it seemed to work. Maybe others might have a better idea🙂

• Thanks 1

I have a Fluval U2 filter in my 20gal with RCSs. This filter has slits on the sides where it intakes the water. These slits are blocked off with the sponge from the inside. My red cherry shrimps love to get in the slits to munch on whatever food is stuck in the sponges. The suction is not strong enough to bother the shrimp at all. Even the tiniest of baby shrimps get in and out of those slits no problem. I only found 1 dead shrimp inside the filter and I think he crawled inside through the outlet that wasn't expelling water (this filter allows me to choose which outlets i want the water to come out from)

The Fluval U1 model is for tanks up to 15gal.

• Thanks 1

Sicce and marineland have some pretty decent internal pumps.  Don't get the Shark ADV but the new one that isn't egg shaped.

In terms of internal, I would do an internal sponge filter and then secondarily add a pumphead mod the output with a spraybar.  Not easy to do, but it's one of the better internal filters.   You could also do this.....

• Thanks 1