Looking for the best lights.

BettaFishCO

So, I know worlds of info on grow lights but not one thing on aquarium lights. I have no idea what spectrums penetrate the best, provide the best light for under water plants, and which ones are good for fish. I know I've spent over 3k on a single black dog fixture before but I'm pretty sure that's not the way to go here.

I looked briefly at Fruval lights (I actually don't know) and I think it's the one that mimics storms. I would like one that can do that as I do breed some stubborn rain season breeders and I suspect it might be at least 1% better then not having it and they were pretty cheap (around 200-240).

Thanks again for the help, so much to learn.

BettaFish...check out Bentley Pascoe on YouTube. He has great videos on lights...especially the Fluval 3.0. 

• Like 2

On 12/23/2022 at 12:25 PM, BettaFishCO said:

Thanks again Patrick,

So I'm new to aquarium plants but I do have some that are supposed to turn pretty red with more light. IDK the strength of light any water plants require or if the par rating crosses over to aquatic plants since the water may change the wave lengths. I'm literally in the dark.

Personally I'd start put with something pretty basic while you’re learning the basics of growing plants. A newly planted tank with a high PAR light can quickly become an algae farm. The tank in my sig used two cheap Nicrew lights and they get the job done at about $70 a piece. 

The Fluval 3.0 is a great mid priced light that's adjustable and has decent PAR when you need it. It's a mass market product and has tons of support. It's color rendition isn't as good as the high end lights but it's less expensive. 

Aquarium Co-op has a new light coming out the looks like it might bridge the quality and price gap between the typical cheap Amazon light and the Fluval 3.0. 

• Like 3

Patrick with the win,