Ich on spotted Congo puffer?

Stephen Zawacki

Thanks @TheSwissAquarist.  Im not a meds expert but I normally do a water change first and would try the med that was most likely to solve the issue. Seem like your plan is what I would do i just follow the bottle dorections if I am actively treating. But again I am not an expert on the meds so i just go that route. 

If I feed during meds Iw will err on the side of caution and do light feedings. Meds can throw off my beneficial bacteria and its harder for me to maintain my water quality balance. It can swing quickly up here in the med situation and drastically swing if I am not careful.  I am a bit more dilligent in monitoring water quality and puffer behaviors in both QT med situations as a result. 

So I am a total newbie at this (I vetoed getting a fish tank but my daughter spend her own money and came home with one, anyway)...after a disastrous beginning, with nitrite and ammonia elevations and stressing the fish horribly (I trusted her to do research and do the testing, etc. that was required as I did not want to add fish to the mix of houseplants, cats, dogs, work, life!), we ended up with Ich -- big surprise, right?

Anyway, I did a boatload of research and used Nox-Ich because it was what was readily available. I found that to treat Ich, one can salt the tank, raise the temperature, and chemically treat. My fish store told me never to raise the temperature AND do chemicals together, but you can salt the tank and use chemicals, or do the salt and raise the temperature.