Guppy rack build

Zoro

Hi guys, im in process of building small rack for some guppys, and would like to build it from extruded aluminum. This would be my first rack build and first time building something with T sloted extruded aluminum. So if someone has any experience with it i would like some input. 
Plan is to you 30x30 mm extrusion but not sure if that would be strong enough ?

Guppy Rack.PNG

So the corners of the tanks don't have any vertical boards underneath them? Seems like it's relying just on the horizontal boards and whatever is being used to attach them. But I'm not a structural engineer or anything of the sort, so I don't know if that's an issue or not.

EDIT: Smarter posts start below. ⬇️

Edited by StephenP2003

30mm extrusion is more than enough. From some napkin math, you've got at least a factor of safety of 5 for the extrusion. The only thing I would change in the design is put the columns on the outside of the horizontal pieces, and make the horizontal pieces 1 long extrusion. It will make putting plywood down a lot easier, as you wont need to cut slots for the columns.

12 minutes ago, Phirefase said:

30mm extrusion is more than enough. From some napkin math, you've got at least a factor of safety of 5 for the extrusion. The only thing I would change in the design is put the columns on the outside of the horizontal pieces, and make the horizontal pieces 1 long extrusion. It will make putting plywood down a lot easier, as you wont need to cut slots for the columns.

If I got it right then tanks would be recesed inside for a extrusion thickness.

And how did you calculated that safety factor if I may ask, so I know for future and maybe even go with size down extrusion 

1 hour ago, Zoro said:

its not on the picture but there will be wooden partical board underneath tanks to spread load 

I'd suggest plywood sheathing (not osb) instead of particle mdf board. 

The extruded aluminum sounds like a great idea. 

• Like 1

1 minute ago, Zoro said: