Help identifying and dealing with this algae

Hello all!

This is my first time posting so I apologize if I don't get everything correct the first time. I have a 55 gal planted tank that has been struggling with algae for months now. I have done tons of research, water tests, tried various solutions (adjusting lighting and duration, easy carbon dosing, easy green dosing, increased water changes, etc.). If someone could provide some insight on what this algae is and how I can get it under control it would be much appreciated! I'll share my plant stock below, but I am happy to share any additional information that is needed to help better understand my parameters :). Thanks in advance!

My current plant stock is:

Algae.jpg

Algae #2.jpg

Driftwood and sword algae.jpg

Pogostemon algae.jpg

Thanks for responding! I thought it might have been brown algae, but when i've dealt with brown algae before and in my previous experience it's very easy to remove from the leaves. This stuff just won't rub off and the leaves start to tear instead because it's so stuck on.

Brown algae is usually pretty easy to remove, but this might be something closer to green spot algae, and that’s difficult to manually remove from leaves. It could also be the start of black beard algae like @Expectorating_Aubergine mentioned. That’s another tenacious form of algae.

Here’s my recipe for algae control:

1. Cleaning crew of Amano shrimp and Otocinclus 

2. Reduction in light intensity or duration 

3. manual removal if possible 

4. Easy Carbon or other chemical algicide. I use this sparingly, and it’s effective in knocking back an infestation while you work on fix the root cause of the algae. 

5. More plant mass! A large mass of healthy plants seems to outcompete algae. 

• Like 3