Methelyne Blue and Eggs . . . How Long?

tolstoy21

On 11/10/2022 at 1:42 PM, Snjchris said:

Not sure about your setup but if you are worried about water quality, it helps to remove the unfertilized and fungus eggs daily. 

Yeah I was considering that. My water quality should be high. I've just had this mother Zebra Acara eat the last 6 batches of eggs she's laid. 

I'm trying to determine if she eats them cause they fungus over, if they are unfertilized, or just because she doesn't know any better.

I'd like to spend the next few days observing what happens to the eggs outside of her care. And, of course, get some fry in the process.

Edited by tolstoy21

On 11/10/2022 at 10:31 AM, tolstoy21 said:

This is my first attempt at hatching eggs outside of a mother's care so I need some guidance,.

How long does one typically let the eggs sit in methylene blue before clearing that from the water?

You keep the meth blue until the fry are free swimming. After that you do small water changes.

Edited by DiscusLover
  • Thanks 1

On 11/10/2022 at 10:31 AM, tolstoy21 said:

This is my first attempt at hatching eggs outside of a mother's care so I need some guidance,.

How long does one typically let the eggs sit in methylene blue before clearing that from the water?

dean said he does his until he sees fry and then gets it out of the water.

On 11/10/2022 at 10:47 AM, tolstoy21 said:

I'm trying to determine if she eats them cause they fungus over, if they are unfertilized, or just because she doesn't know any better.

Sometimes they do it because they see food and don't process it as their own.  Sometimes they do it out of fear (like a mouth brooder trying to keep them in, but they aren't one).  So having low stress surroundings is key for some female fish.