Fluval 3.0 - Not what I expected

So!  I recently purchased a Fluval 3.0 light for my planted aquarium.  I'm still VERY new to this but I think its going pretty well.  With that being said, Can someone please tell me what timezone the light uses or how to set it?  I set my light to a 5 hour on time and it stayed on well past that.  Midly frustrated at the company (Fluval, NOT Aquarium Co-Op) selling such an awesome piece of hardware with crap software. (My opinion)

Any help would be very much appreciated!

On 10/29/2022 at 4:49 PM, Blade2021 said:

Hey there, welcome to the forums!

First, have you connected the light to your phone via the app at all?

I would suggest starting with Cory's, Bentley Pascoe's reviews and beginner light videos.  I'll grab them for you, but I think both show how to connect the light.

It doesn't use a "timezone" per say.  It's going to be set via bluetooth directly off the app.  You can use the light manually with a timer like a kasa timer and the on/off modes.  You would set the brightness by press / holding the power button when it is illuminated white.  You can also do this with blue (blue mode = night light).  Red = off.  Green is where you are connecting the phone to the app, running it via bluetooth.

Happy to help with any further questions 🙂

Hello there,  Thank you for the warm welcome and info you posted.  I'll check those out.

I did connect it to my phone via the app and bluetooth and that's where the heart of my frustration seems to be coming from.  I think the hardware side is absolutely top notch and have zero complaints but the app just seems undercooked and quite frankly, almost worthless.  I'm no stranger to SmartHome/IoT gear and I do have a coupler of smart switches like the kasa laying around that I can use.