caribsea aragonite sand for freshwater

Rosebud

I am new in fish hobby. Actually it is my 5 year old son who likes to have fish, but that started it all, and here I am more interested than ever. I just got a 29 gal tank from Petco (they are on sale), I am just thinking of getting different kinds of neon tetras, and perhaps some golden gourami as centerpiece (suggestion is appreciated). On this note, my cousin gave me a 40lbs caribsea aragonite ( CaribSea ACS00050 Aragonite Reef Sand for Aquariumwhich I like because of its grain size and color and it helps the cost down for a new setup. I know the aragonite will raise the PH of the water, but what would be a good mix with the aragonite so as not the raise the PH that high? or if anyone could suggest a cheaper aquarium soil (that supplies nutrients and whatever for live plants) and substrate would be of great help. Our water hardness here in Virginia is just average if that helps.

I would not recommend aragonite sand for the above listed fish. If inert sand (will not change water chemistry) is what you are after it can be had for cheap at garden supply stores or home depot. 

There is nothing cheaper than organic soil which many aquarists here use for their planted tanks. It is called a “Walstad tank” and there are many articles on it. You can cap it with play sand so as to not cloud the water.

• Thanks 1

I agree with not using it for the above fish. If you were going to stock with livebearers such as mollies, guppies, and platies, then I would consider it, especially of your tap water was softer than average, and below 7.0 PH. Otherwise it just shouldn't be needed.