pH Calibration on the Co-op test strips?

NBrucker

Hello - I'm wondering if anyone else has issues/problems with the pH reading on the ACO test strips? This is my first time using them (previously using Tetra test strips or API Master kit) and I seem to be consistently getting a reading between 6.4 and 6.8, no matter which water I'm testing (distilled, tap, any of my 6 tanks which have varying hardness based on population). I've now used the strips about 20-30 times and always get the same reading, no matter what.

For instance, I've attached a picture below of the strip testing my tap water which looks like ~6.6, which API master kit reads as 7.6-7.8.  (Ignore the other pad readings - I tried to only drip water onto the pH pad to ensure no "bleed".) I then tested some distilled water from my chemist husband's lab to try to calibrate, and both the strip and API read 6.4-6.8. Then I tested my hard water tank which read 7.8-8.0 on API and still reading just around 6.6 on the ACO strips.

I swish for 3 seconds, then keep horizontal with care not to let any liquid bleed into the next pad, and read at 1 minute (and again at 1.5 minutes just to be sure). The other readings on the ACO test strips seem to correspond well with my API test kit readings, so I don't think this is necessarily a "bad batch" of strips. 

And before the discussion starts, no - I'm not trying to "chase pH" so please not looking for answers telling me to ignore the pH if the fish are happy 🙂  I just would like to be able to get accurate readings in case of problems, like with a recent mass guppy die-off after I removed the driftwood from one of my tanks. Thanks!!! Appreciate this forum so much!IMG_0696.jpg.32d5d01cb41f7d81cdae276b25c73e38.jpg

On 8/13/2022 at 11:15 AM, face said:

you could try putting some baking soda in a glass of water and testing that just to see if it will change colour under very high ph if they don't than you know there broken.