I have high ph about 8.4 out of tap. Should I be buffering it down or leave it alone?

DadSquatch

Hi was wondering what I should do I have 3 tanks of different sizes Using one to breed some guppys and another for my community tank. Was wondering if I should try to buffer my water down from an 8.4 ph or leave it high but consistent? I'm new to hobby and have started to lower tank with vinegar not sure if I should or not don't want any spikes in ph. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

• Like 1

Personally, I probably would not try to majorly chemically alter my source water. If you are keeping fish, you'll inevitably be changing water . . . and it may be difficult to keep that up. 

What you want to learn is whether anything changes after your water has "rested" (typically with an air-stone running in a pail) for 48 hours. You may find that it measures at 8.4 pH from the tap, but after resting for a couple days, it levels off to 8.0 pH.

A lot depends on how much buffer you have in your water. Technically speaking, buffer is the level of hardness measured in GH (general hardness) and in KH (carbonate hardness) that your source water already contains. Water with high GH and KH measurements will tend to retain a given pH rather than drop.

With a planted tank and heavy fish stock, humic acids naturally build up over time, and tend to drift your pH down. The addition of crushed coral can raise KH, and keep your tank balanced. Conversely, adding peat moss can soften water, making your water more changeable.

Another practical question is this: how are your fish handling your water? If they are fine in it, then there's no need to overthink things.

Now, you _can_ carefully add acid to your water to cut pH. There are risks, and it can become a bother. You want to be very attentive. My recommendation would be to do that in a bucket before adding to your aquarium. Let it rest there too until what your are adding to your aquarium is predictable.