Keeping fish in a rented apartment

Nik_n

Hey,

I soon moving into a new apartment with a friend of mine, because we are both starting university in summer. The apartment is great except one thing. They don't allow pets. This is somewhat of an annoying thing for me because I have been keeping fish for the last 6 years and really enjoyed it. I planned to continue when I went to uni but I'm not sure about it now. I'm planning to ask the landlord, if having an aquarium (60-100l) would go against to contract. I have heard mixed opinions on this as the only real damage can be cased by a leaking tank and that is unlikely to happen if the tank is properly made. 

I would like to know if anyone had a similar problem before and how they dealt with it or if anyone has any helpful advice. 

Thank you  

• Like 1

Usually what "no pets" means is things like cats and dogs that will do actual damage to the unit and bother the neighbors. Fish wise they tend to just have a gallon limit (usually nothing over 40 gals. Ask the building manager). Ask the manager if you like. Personally, I've never asked and I have personally never had a problem with keeping animals that live in glass boxes in apartments. Even when I didn't ask prior to getting the animal (don't get frogs. They will croak, and your neighbors will complain). 

Edited by Expectorating_Aubergine
  • Like 2

You have to check the lease agreement for details and if it is not in there, get landlord clarity in writing. In college our apartment had a policy of no pets written into the lease but the office published an exception for fish tanks up to 10g and eventually it was written into the next year's lease for all units in the community. 

• Like 1