Why are emerald dwarf rasbora not more popular.

Guppysnail

I really want these guys. I do not want to order in the heat. Many lfs within a reasonable driving distance have all said they never get them because no one buys them. No one at either club I joined keeps them. 

Am I missing something? They appear to be easy to keep. Are they prone to issues I have not read about or do I just like a fish others don’t?  

Borrowed internet pic 

F0DA2B46-21D8-46C3-8742-92C52F08ECD3.png

Edited by Guppysnail
  • Like 1
  • Love 1

Dude these guys are sick! That’s a good question! I don’t believe I’ve seen them at my lfs (I’m basically new to fish I only have a african clawed frog I rescued and some nerite snails) I’m currently looking into stocking a 10gal tank with some Nano fish and these guys would be perfect.

• Like 1

I’ve ordered them online and had good luck with them. I’ve haven’t had any issues. They do stay super small, which could be why no one buys them. They “disappear” in a large tank and to see the colors you have to get so, so close - and they are pretty shy (they know just about anything could eat them). I like them, but I probably won’t get more unless I purposely keep a desktop nano tank, as they are so hard to appreciate in anything bigger than like 5 gallons, especially if it is planted.

• Thanks 1

hard to say, but i think when folks look at that type of fish it is between the emeralds, and CPD's, and well the CPD's are just stunning (at least in my opinion). when i got my CPD's it was almost a toss up between them and the emeralds, but the celestials just look so much like a brook trout, i had to go with them.

• Thanks 1

On 7/7/2022 at 10:53 AM, lefty o said: