Albino Cory Cat Behavior—Are mine normal?

Melissa G

My 6 cory cats (The Derpingtons) will swim like this for hours. They’re all juvenile. Not sure if the male-female ratio, but they’re just the most active goofs in the world. They’ll sometimes run into each other as they swim too and fro. It’s hilarious to watch. 
They eat fine and don’t seem to be stressed. I’m just new to the hobby and want to know if they’re ok. 

I have have 3 mollies, some tetras, and Big Man (honey red gourami). 

Water parameters:

temp: 73°-76°

ph: 7.0-7.6

no ammonia or nitrites

nitrates: about 25ppm (has been up to 30)

API master test kit

9E380EF6-6FBE-484B-9CA4-7F2DA87AEB4F.gif

• Like 2

On 6/26/2022 at 9:01 PM, Patrick_G said:

How long have they been in the tank? I’ve found they need a little time to settle down after being added to a new tank. 

Probably about 2 months. They’ve occasionally done this but never for these

long stretches. Everyone in there seems happy. It’s very strange. Just want to be sure they’re ok. 

On 6/26/2022 at 8:32 PM, Fish Folk said:

Typically they’re more benthic. I’ve seen this behavior once before, but in a tank with loads of plants and flow. Can you post a 60-sec video, not time lapse?

Here’s about 20 seconds from this morning. 
they’re still at it. I’ll clip and link that too. 
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1VnRp6XCTySKHTRHSS7RU749hhWpMp0JB/view?usp=drivesdk

On 6/26/2022 at 8:32 PM, Fish Folk said:

Typically they’re more benthic. I’ve seen this behavior once before, but in a tank with loads of plants and flow. Can you post a 60-sec video, not time lapse?

Here are some longer clips. 
https://drive.google.com/file/d/12ShxvbCb3ND8eiZ732d9dV98sDGPdvV2/view?usp=drivesdk

https://drive.google.com/file/d/19tG-2utWz4WpZaTbK2M1ePVCqzsaiaOR/view?usp=drivesdk

On 6/26/2022 at 9:30 PM, Fish Folk said: