Albino Corydoras not active

jb1rd55

Hey Im new to fish keeping and was wondering if my Cory's not being active is normal. I've had them for 5 days now and they were only swimming around for one day out of the five. Other than that they just lay at the bottom chilling. They don't look stressed and they aren't breathing hard. My ammonia is 0, Nitrite is 0, and Nitrate 5. The only thing I can think of is that I don't have a sand substrate but I thought smooth pebbles would work. 

• Like 1

Pebbles should be fine. Corydoras like a lot of flow. I’ve used a small Hydor circular before to move water around a small tank…

3DBA961E-5E78-4EB2-B263-DB20A014536D.jpeg.cd7e5e1451071bdf4016a724220545a2.jpeg

I also really enjoy the ACO powerhead set up on a coarse ACO sponge filter…

FB3B95D5-1B3E-4DC0-B4A0-A3D1557E63D5.jpeg.e3c2115d7446d69c55b4c60c83c63bdb.jpeg

But my absolute favorite adaptation is the ACO Powerhead + Sponge filter + DIY Spraybar. I built this recently for some US Natives I keep. You can follow the build if you scroll through my journal here…

Additionally, bear in mind that nearly all catfish are nocturnal feeders. They’re often quite active at night.

Not sure what you’re feeding them, but they do well with some quality frozen bloodworms. Healthy live black worms will bring out a side of them you’ve never seen before!

Not sure what species you’re working with, but here’s a breeding journal my son made for Corydoras aeneus (Bronze Corys) a while ago. Lots of interesting videos here… 

Edited by Fish Folk
  • Like 3

On 6/20/2022 at 6:47 PM, DarthMollusk said:

I have corys on gravel and they do fine. They do spend a fair amount of time chillaxing on the bottom.

Spit-balling for more info here: Have they been eating so far as you can see? What else do you have in your tank? How small are they?