Neon dying 1 by 1 no indication of disease and water par fine

Marcelo

Hi Everyone, 

New 40 breeder here. I finished 1 month cycling the water, already had/have 3 Nerites and ghost shrimps since 2 weeks.

ph of 7.5 but going down to 6.8 when the CO2 is in its peak.

Ammonia about 0.25.    chlorine is 0.0      Nitrate and nitrite are 0.0

hardness was very very high (300GH - I am from Florida) and I have used those pillows that reduce the hardness and now it is about     25GH

About 40KH

Temp 75oF

2 days ago I put 10 neons (slowly acclimatizing them) and after 4 to 5 hours they started to dye 1 by 1.

I can’t see anything wrong in their bodies.

They start to spill and swim erratic and dye.

do you have some clue that could help me ?

thank you VERY MUCH

Edited by Marcelo

It’s hard to diagnose any fish illness that doesn’t physically show up as a huge red flag typically, in this scenario it could be a number of things: let me preface this by saying I’m no expert, however if I were in your shoes, given the info provided this is where I would start:

-ammonia, some fish are much more sensitive to it than others so even the low number could potentially be effecting them slightly 

- water temperature 

- that ph swing with the CO2 injection could also be a culprit 

- oxygen level in the water 

- could they perhaps have been purchased sick? Improperly quarantined and one of the things listed above expedited there condition?

I theorize that due to the speed they are dying there is an underlying water quality issue in the tank or something in the tank causing this, I would master test kit it or look up your water via your water company to see if there are any pollutants or chemicals you wouldn’t think to check for

Recommendation:

take a water sample and test it yourself or have a local pet store test it for u to get a second set of eyes on your numbers

seachem prime