10 gallon stocking?

lynxfishy

Hey everyone! I recently got a 10 gallon tank (my first!) and wanted to make a planted blackwater set up. I am fairly new to the hobby and did a lot of research on stocking choices and beginner friendly set ups, along with how to cycle the tank and the basic care requirements. After a month of cycling I recently got a dwarf powder blue gourami, and I really enjoyed him. Then a week went by and I purchased 6 pygmy corries, and used the med trio on all of them in my display tank (realized I forgot to quarantine them). I find that my dwarf powder blue tries to eat the pymgy Cory's food and kind of chases them away from their food, so I was going to try to hide their food in a place where he cannot reach it. I reached out on another aquarium forum and mentioned I also eventually wanted to get neon tetras for this tank (5) but I was told this was over stocking. I used AQadvisor's peaceful 10g community set up as a base for this stocking and had also referenced the 10 gallon cookie cutter set up from aquarium coop's blog, so honestly I'm a bit confused lol. If it is overstocking is there a different type of fish I could add to the tank instead of neons? 

I've attached a picture of the tank for reference

TL;DR Is a dwarf powder blue gourami, 6 pygmy cories, and 5 neon tetras overstocking in a 10 gallon blackwater set up with driftwood, plants, and rocks? 

Screen Shot 2022-06-01 at 9.17.56 AM.png

• Like 1

I have 70+ Otocinclus in a 20 gallon (previously had 50+ in a 10 gallon but moved them into the 20). I have 0 water parameter issues- the tank has 2 sponge filters and a HOB. The only reason I do water changes is to clean up after the messy little things, spot cleaning daily and 1x a week 2 gallon or so water swap (due to the vacuuming). Here is what I posted to answer an other members question when asked the same thing: