Aquarium Lid

Ryan1988

Hello All,

I'm hoping one of you can point me in the right direction. I'm new to the aquarium business. I started out about 2 months ago with a top fin 20 gallon tank. I'm in the market for a new lid for my tank due to upgrading the crappy filter that it came with. I recently purchased a Tetra Perfecto Aquarium Hood Led from amazon. Took me a good long while to find this as they really don't have many options out there. It arrives and it is not as advertised it is only a replacement hood with hinges no frame included. Please send me any recommendations for a new lid that can fit the Aqueon 50 HOB filter. Preferably one with an LED light or room for one. Side note, do they make lids that work with the co-op automatic feeders? 

Thank you,

Ryan

All of the big box stores are going to have their version/brand of "glass canopy".  The two big ones being versatop (Aqueon / petco) and top fin (the other guys)

One of them is pretty much readily available.

From my experience, the 75G aqueon lids are AWESOME and I am very happy with them. My 55G I made my own in various materials. Because of the "high quality" of the 75G lids I got the same brand for my 29G and I was very unhappy.  It was as if they had shipped me an incorrect part (rear trim was 1/2" too short.  If I took the trim off my 75, works fine.  I've since ordered a replacement trim, but that alone was the cost of the entire lid!  Not having many options I went and got the same thing for my 10G QT tank, works fine except for it being a lid that you can open (the spring tension is so stiff the glass snaps back and then I have issues with it scaring the fish. 

SO..... back to the 29G and I've had the lid for a few months. It's nearly falling apart.  I try cleaning it over and over but the hinge piece is so worn and eroded away (on the top of the tank, presumably by the head of the light or something) and it looks like it's about to do this to me.