Hibi

Hey y'all I'm starting to plan to build an aquarium rack system. My idea was to build a 3 tiered rack with reinforced bases my questions:

1. what type of wood (I thought i would just use regular pine 2x4 but im not sure if thats good long term)

2. what have been your designs? do you have any plans you could share?

My ppt is in another computer I will post it later

@HibiscusAquatics I'm going to assume that you will be using this rack for bettas from your other posts. When you say tiered do you mean like stair steps? You might check out Inglorious Bettas youtube channel. She has a metal rack with a tiered wooden rack on top. The metal portion holds tanks for fry grow out and the wooden rack holds jars for growing out individuals after separation.

I'm going to preface this with I have no experience with building aquarium racks, but have done my fair share of woodworking projects. With that out of the way, my gut feeling is to go with the metal racks made for storing stuff. The wood might be cheaper, but its going to require more work to assemble and will take more work to get the wood to look good. The wood rack could also have some personal customizations like net hooks or oddball size constraints.

• Like 1

On 10/20/2020 at 10:22 AM, MickS77 said:

Consider material cost vs buying a metal rack. Lumber prices are through the roof because of covid, could be different per region. 

I ended up buying a metal rack 🤣

• Like 3

On 10/20/2020 at 11:22 AM, MickS77 said:

Consider material cost vs buying a metal rack. Lumber prices are through the roof because of covid, could be different per region.