Glofish danios with zebra danios?

Maybe an odd question. I’m a one month newbie, by accident. You can see he story in my into thread, but basically a well intended kids gift of fish and a tiny tank…and here we are.

Three kids, three fish, disaster. My daughters gifted fish was a pink/purple glofish tetra, which of course died because no one knew anything. At any rate she’s set on that Pink fish color. Her older brother and her twin brothers fish are still living in the new & cycled 15 gallon with some matching friends (6 harlequin rasboras, and 3 s&p corys). 

I have a 32 gallon they all will be moving to when it’s ready, and I’d really like to not have a school of fluorescent fish in there if I can avoid it. So, I’m wondering if a Glofish danio will school and feel comfortable with regular zebra danios? My kids like the rasboras activity level so I think the danios will be a better fit. Hoping to pull off my daughter having her pink fish that’ll school with their genetic lineage. Pipe dream? 

Absent that, and ideas for a pink(ish) fish? I’d really like to keep the kids interested…because I’m hooked!

• Love 1

Honestly, I would totally try that. Girl has to get what girl wants. A friend of mine (who is not a kid- at all- and not a newbie to the hobby either) has glotetras and albino cory- they all get along fine. She's recently added Mollies- still good. You can always ask the fish store if they didn't work out if you could return the fish and maybe trade it for a pink castle as a compromise? 😉

• Like 1

On 5/21/2022 at 9:12 PM, xXInkedPhoenixX said:

Honestly, I would totally try that. Girl has to get what girl wants. A friend of mine (who is not a kid- at all- and not a newbie to the hobby either) has glotetras and albino cory- they all get along fine. She's recently added Mollies- still good. You can always ask the fish store if they didn't work out if you could return the fish and maybe trade it for a pink castle as a compromise? 😉