Guppy Overfeeding

awd79

Hello All,

first post here. Looks like a great forum. 

I have kept aquariums for 20 years on and off. Saltwater, fresh, planted, crystal and pinto shrimp, etc. However, I am new to guppies. 

I bought some breeders a trio. Both females and male have died. Lots of fry from two successful births are alive and growing well in grow out tanks. The trio died at different times. Water parameters are all zero. Sometimes nitrates are 5-10 but many times zero as I have lots of plants.

I believe I might be overfeeding because in every instance the fish look like they have a swim bladder issue and die hours later. The last one was the male. I fed the tank kinda heavy. Left for the gym came back and he was swimming upside down. I put him in methylene blue and he died within the hour. All others died in similar fashion.  

Thoughts?

First welcome to the forum! 

Sorry to hear about your guppies. From whom did you purchase them? Big box? Online? This will help give some clues. 

Guppies are not what they were when I got into the hobby 36 years ago. They’re more inbred and if they come from farms they’re often raised in salt water ponds - huge advantages in terms of infections and the minerality of the water is great for their skeletal development. However this puts you the hobbyist at a huge disadvantage when receiving the fish. I’m glad you have fry born in your water. They’re going to do really well for you. I don’t think you did anything wrong. 

Now when you get a new pair or trio I’d add a tablespoon of aquarium or reef salt to the tank and I bet they’ll do better. This applies to all livebearers except Goodied or home bred fish. Crushed coral is also a livebearer nerds friend. All Corys early videos his substrate was crushed coral