Weekly Deaths!

Milburn95

Hello, I’m fairly new to the hobby and had great success in my first year with my community tank but suddenly I’m having a fatality every week and I don’t know why! I don’t think I’ve changed anything other than adding two frogbit plants. Anyone got any suggestions, my testing strips suggest my KH is basically non existent, could that be why? And why would that have suddenly changed a year in? I’ve talked a lot but yeah any help would be appreciated, thanks guys. 

All living inhabitants in the tank will use up the minerals in the tank.  So any any minerals not added back in sufficient supply will deplete.  What size tank? What flora and fauna? Tank parameters?   I would answer those first and you might just have your issue solved.  Snails and shrimp need higher kh for molting etc....Crushed calcium is an easy way to add it.  Not knowing your GH or TDS, I would think you are lacking other minerals as well but do not want to speculate without full results.

Hey so my this is my test results;

No3 20

No2 0-0.5

pH 6

KH 0

GH 60

My temp is set to 25oc but have just tested it with my digital thermometer and it’s reading at 33oc!

I have a 60L tank with the following fish;

2x Glass Fish

1x African Dwarf Frog

1x Ram

1x Bristlenose

2x Corys

2x Bamboo Shrimp

I also have 1 Amazon sword plant and 2 frogbit floating ontop,

I change about 30% of water a week and use only tapsafe as an addictive, hope this helps.

Suggestions:

More plants. Easy green and Easy Iron help a ton. 
PH is very low. With no KH it could really swing. Get some crushed coral or one of those magic shells made of calcium carbonate. Your shrimp will die with calcium to help them molt.