Corys or Otos?

On 5/11/2022 at 10:28 AM, Henry the fish keeper said:

No, I am not talking about if they will get along or not. I am a beginner fish keeper. Should I get otos or corydoras?

Get corys.  Otos aren't good fish for beginners.  There's a reason some online retailers guarantee live arrival for most of their their fish, but not otos.

• Like 5

What @xXInkedPhoenixX said.

Corys are omnivorous bottom feeders. Otocinclus are primary herbivores, with many species being obligate herbivores.

Corys you can feed anything that falls to the bottom.

Otos need algae, and lots of it. They prefer live algae, but high quality prepared herbivore foods like Repashy Super Green are also very good.

Otos are also notoriously mistreated in the industry, and by the time you get them--depending on where you bought them, and where that place got them--they have a good chance of having been starved to the point that they will no longer even try to eat if food is available. So, if you do get otos (which are actually easy fish when you get healthy ones and feed them properly) be prepared for the possibility that the ones you buy may be predestined to fail before you even have a chance with them.

• Thanks 1

On 5/11/2022 at 12:17 PM, Henry the fish keeper said:

If I end up going with otos what should I know about them?