Dwarf Gourami Vs Betta

Gabs19

Hello! I’m new to the hobby and four months ago I got my first betta and sadly he passed away recently. I’d like to eventually get another single fish for my 10 gallon community tank. My husband really fell in love with the female powder blue dwarf gouramis at the store. But I’m a little worried I won’t find them enjoyable/interesting. My betta had an adorable personality. At the same time, I fussed over my betta so much, especially over the last month when he really started to decline. I feel like I might be a little betta-traumatized lol. I did hear that plakat bettas tend to be healthier since their fins are much shorter and they are not as susceptible to fin rot. Can anyone can confirm this? 

If anything has thoughts about plakat bettas or gouramis, let me know. Taking a few days to think about it. 

• Like 1

Gouramis are some of my favorite fish and have just as much personality. Bettas are kind of controversial as a "beginner fish" because of how fragile and prone to illness they are so I can't blame the betta trauma. I've had several over the years (and even more gouramis) and  personally found gouramis much easier to keep in a "thriving" state. I currently have 15 gouramis if that says anything 😅 The best part of their personality (to me) is how they tend to use their specialized pectoral fins. My thick lipped girls and my honeys both put their pecs up to the glass if you put your finger against it and it's one of the cutest things ever.