CO2 and sponge filters

Nano Bubbles

Is CO2 worth it if you use sponge filters? I have two sponges running in my 36gallon and I just added a little co2 kit. I was super excited until I found out that they’re not compatible or you run out of co2 faster?

Just looking for some people who have experience with this and how it worked out for you and if you still think it’s worth it. I don’t want to stop using sponge filters either. 

p.s. I know CO2 isn’t necessary at all and you can have great growth without it, I’ve just never tried it and wanted to. 

9F88906D-AF53-475D-8B92-A20ADC4804C0.jpeg

Edited by Nano Bubbles

Such a controvertial subject. Some people will swear tons of surface agitation negates the absorbtion of CO2 and there are others recently (Cory talked about this on a video actually, wish I remembered which it was to link) about it not being an issue. I personally fall in the first boat, only because that's what I've been doing for 15 years. 

I personally think it depends on a few things. Are you looking for the best plant growth? Then CO2 is ideal, better to have injected than none at all. Are you looking for an ADA display with that type of growth? Probably not the best to have sponges running besides them not fitting the ADA style aesthetic. 

On 5/10/2022 at 11:30 AM, Tihshho said:

Such a controvertial subject. Some people will swear tons of surface agitation negates the absorbtion of CO2 and there are others recently (Cory talked about this on a video actually, wish I remembered which it was to link) about it not being an issue. I personally fall in the first boat, only because that's what I've been doing for 15 years. 

I personally think it depends on a few things. Are you looking for the best plant growth? Then CO2 is ideal, better to have injected than none at all. Are you looking for an ADA display with that type of growth? Probably not the best to have sponges running besides them not fitting the ADA style aesthetic.