1 problem after the other…

Ryan317

Ok so kinda a 3 part story…

Had my 29G tank up and running for about a month explosive plant and algae growth and 0 Ammonia 0 Nitrite 0-10 Nitrate. Added my betta, week later added a bolivian ram, another week later 9 cherry barbs. was going to quarantine but shop said not to as they do it (very good shop so i trust) Yay everything worked PERFECT. gonna let the tank develop a little more and get some algae eaters/loaches.

Part 2 smh. So basically the 3 Otocinclus i got did fine but the 3 yo-yo loaches I got were a whole other story… I’m new to this but do extensive research so I know they weren’t like in shock or anything but the next day i noticed them acting a little strange… I look it up online “oh loaches are just weird” hmmmmm ok. next day they are like really starting to freak out and i’m like ok something is wrong and then I find out about flashing and all that but still can’t tell exactly what is wrong. Day 3 BOOM the 3 yoyo loaches EXPLODED with Ich (oh they were scratching) I honestly thought since it was later stage I was going to lose them all. On the 5th I Got Ich-X and treated whole tank (store instruction)raised temp to 82 (I heard barbs can handle temp up to 79/82 from different places and I figured there would be leniency on a shorter timeframe.) My barbs weren’t very schooling but were very active and now they all were just hiding in the bottom back corner of the tank around my dwarf aquarium lily. and usually they don’t even want to be that close to each other.