Rant: "Glass Canopies" are not designed for the hobby

As a designer, I look at a problem and try to find the solution.   The solution for a lot of hobbyists is to go elsewhere and to use other materials to cover their tanks. I have been down that road and I have opted for glass lids.  I also have found two major issues that buying a manufactured lid tends to help fix over any custom job.

1. I would cut the glass myself, notch the corners to give myself a food hole and/or a place for cords. The issue then becomes the filter cutout itself. The edges never look nice and it's very easy to mess up along the way, resulting in a bad fit or injuries.

2.  The thickness of the glass is usually pretty thin for what I have access to. I have found thicker glass at a specific location and they use a tablesaw or something similar to cut it. Also, this typically this means you're not getting a tempered glass lid.

Even if we wanted to make the lids ourselves, with quality glass there still is two major issues....