First time aquarium owner! Need some help with brand new tank.

Hello!

I'm brand new to the hobby and just started cycling my first tank on 4/4! Its a 20 gallon high with dragon stones and plants.

I wanted to keep it fairly simple for my first tank and got plants that should be beginner level such as java fern, anubias, water sprite, amazon sword, and Pogostemon Stellatus Octopus. 

I believed I messed up somewhere and I'd appreciate any help. I believe I messed up by adding liquid fertilizer and root tabs too early and now my nitrites are off the charts where as Ammonia is at .5ppm and Nitrates are around 20ppm. Did I mess up my cycle?

Is this okay for the plants? If it's not should I do a water change? Will that reset my cycle?

IMG_1228.jpg

IMG_1227.jpg

Edited by Polarcard
  • Like 3

Hi @Polarcard welcome to the forum, great start you have there, and you should be happy with those plants. I love easy care plants- they are the best. I wouldn't worry too much. Are you adding a beneficial bacteria supplement? The ammonia would be a problem IF there were fish/inverts in there. Plants should be fine. If you chose plant substrate it probably had enough initial nutrients so yeah ferts are probably a little overdosed but SHOULD have no negative effect on the the plant life. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Welll, the ammonia theoretically should help. So test the water maybe once a week or every few days, see if ammonia turns to nitrite readings- it's harder to tell when you already have nitrates in the water if you're all good. I think in this case I'd leave it and see if the ammonia transitions out on it's own and both ammonia/nitrite test 0. For inhabitants I'd probably aim for 40 or less on the Nitrates.

• Thanks 1

On 4/10/2022 at 5:13 PM, CalmedByFish said:

Welcome to the hobby.

Thank you!

On 4/10/2022 at 4:28 PM, xXInkedPhoenixX said: