10 gallon set up

Bailey

Hello! I am setting up a 10 gallon tank, and I am very new to the hobby. I have only kept cherry shrimp and bettas in the past (Currently have a 3 gallon shrimp tank and a 5 gallon with a betta and mystery snail). The tank is ready for fish but I am having trouble deciding what to stock it with (I do not have space for a bigger tank, just an FYI). It is fully planted and heated, cycled, has been set up for about 5 weeks now, currently just housing two mystery snails to take care of some of the algae growth on the plants and wood (one will be adopted by someone once I start to add fish). My water is exceptionally hard (I don't really understand what that means but I know this from using test strips). My pH is around 7-7.4, temp is around 80, there is driftwood and a few rocks in the tank and about 7-8 plant varieties as of now. 
I was planning on adding some cherry shrimp, but they're not a necessity.  
I was thinking of doing endlers or CPDs...but I guess I'm looking for suggestions and maybe advice? Are either of these suitable for those parameters? I have researched both but I am looking for more real life advice from people that have owned them. Which is more beginner friendly, if either?

Thanks!  

• Like 4

Wow! For a beginner, you’re off to a well-informed start.

Every aquarist has a different view of how to populate an aquarium. Since you’ve got hard water, you might consider investing in some beautiful guppies. Get two males and four females from the same line, and you’ll have a tank full of babies before you know what happened.

Forum guidelines prohibit us from selling on the forum or from naming aquarium fish sellers apart from AquaHuna. But (without saying where from) these are all guppy lines available that you could order in the mail delivered to your door today…

81608F28-09FA-42BD-A1E4-C009014E9D8B.jpeg.3797937f722e14f10933ada7ce8748a3.jpeg

B2D4AF1D-1F4B-4BE8-8149-224E373DC31D.jpeg.3d4228dab70caabc991a90626695bf68.jpeg