Filtration in the Nano Aquarium

Penny

Hi everyone. I'm brand new to the hobby and i'm looking for some advice.

I'm setting up three nano aquariums, I'm not sure if they will just be heavily planted but I love shrimp and snails and I would love a Betta in each

What is the recommended filtration?  I've been looking at external filters.. is it possible to split the input and output three ways and do them all from one filter?

Does anyone have any experience with a nano tank with no filtration at all?

I'd love to see any pictures of your setups 😁

Thank you so much in advance

At the moment they're empty. I have two at 2.65 us gallon/10lt and one 4 us gallon/15lt. I'm not sure how I'm going to set them up but have been looking at them like this and think it could be pretty cool and unusual 

20201015_162052.jpg

• Like 2

Two ways, one is to drill a hole in the tanks at the top and interlink all of them with bulkheads, then put the inlet on the tank at one end and the outlet in the tank at the opposite end.

Less intrusively. You can accomplish the same with some tubing. Place a 1" tube across the top of tank a and b, and another between b and c. Then use an air hose to suck out the air from the tubes. As before, inlet from the filter goes in one end, outlet in the other.

There is an inherent risk in the second option however. If your tubes are short, and for some reason the water comes out of them, then the tank that the filter is filling will over flow and the tank with the outlet to the filter will completely drain.

Edited by McNubbin
  • Like 1

Welcome to the forum!

I would keep it simple and just use some nano or small (depending on height) Co-Op Coarse Sponge Filters. I also like internal MF10s for moving water horizontally. You can go no-filter on some types of established tanks, but I would not recommend it to someone just starting out.

I have pico and nano tanks in my indoor aquariums journal, if you want some small tank examples.

Cheers

• Like 4