Algae Identification Help

I need help identifying and treating this algae. It’s very annoying and I’m contemplating taking out my aquascape and just saving the plants I can and starting over. Most of the plants are doing fine, but it’s grown all over my Java moss and water sprite and the water sprite has gotten very light yellow in color. I’m sure it’s due to some imbalance in my aquarium but I’m fairly new to freshwater and this tank has given me lots of problems. My daughter’s aquarium is doing quite well. I’ll attach pictures of both. 1F842F9E-80BA-4F34-BDEA-707584E6F432.jpeg.5e083d0d18227dd48874c3ab536e58e7.jpegC6713C34-45AC-41F6-A1C0-97192FBBAE65.jpeg.420ddee1f02656f3224bd36602a40bb9.jpeg

Just some additional information. 

I was trying to do a blackwater tank, but my filtration seems to filter out all of the tannins. Does anyone know how to keep the water dark. I’m not using any carbon. Just in case anyone was wondering why all of the leaves were in there. They’re olive leaves and I did boil them before I used them. 

• Like 1

That is indeed some amazing hair algae! Don't panic or feel bad, I think it's a common result for a new tank and there are actually people who try on purpose to grow hair algae and cannot, so some folks would be jealous of your tank!

12 hours per day is a lot of light. My understanding is that plants can only "eat" light for 4-5 hours and then need a break, but algae can "eat" it forever. So having your lights on for that long is making life easier for the algae but not your plants.

I had black hair algae in my first tank until I split my lights into two 5 hour periods and grew a lot more plants. I have it now in a newly established tank and expect that reducing the light and adding more plants will fix it.

Here is a thread that explains the logic of the two separate light periods:

• Thanks 1