Plant identification?

On 3/25/2022 at 4:37 AM, anewbie said:

Can you get a better picture of the 'bulb'. Many mature sword plants will grow a rhizome which is not quite the same thing as a bulb. I am unaware of crypts that grow either bulb or rhizomes.

IMG_20220325_103542.jpg.509d62b8a73be46850ed155029f0afa6.jpg

On 3/25/2022 at 2:00 PM, anewbie said:

That is not a bulb; it is a rhizome. The difference is subtle at a smaller size but the rhizome will continue to grow and new plants will sprout from it. At some point you will be able to cut it in half to form two new plants.

It’s just growing sideway, isn’t it?  

On 3/25/2022 at 2:02 PM, Odd Duck said:

It’s just growing sideway, isn’t it?  

Well yes but i'm not sure what you are trying to say - i mean like a java fern the rhizome will grow elongated and leaves will sprout along it. The one for my ruffle sword reached over 2 inches after a couple of years. I suspect not all swords have rhizome but i'm not an expert here.

-

One big difference between this rhizome and java fern is it won't rot if burried.

Edited by anewbie
  • Like 1

On 3/25/2022 at 2:04 PM, anewbie said:

Well yes but i'm not sure what you are trying to say - i mean like a java fern the rhizome will grow elongated and leaves will sprout along it. The one for my ruffle sword reached over 2 inches after a couple of years. I suspect not all swords have rhizome but i'm not an expert here.

I haven’t seen swords grown what I think of as a true rhizome.  They thicken and then sprout off smaller swords beside the main plant, they send of flower spikes and grow plantlets along the nodes, but I’ve not yet seen one grow a rhizome.

I’ve seen crypts grow runners and if the plants get old enough they grow what looks like a vertical rhizome.  If that is planted sideways it will throw off smaller plants and runners.