Photographing aquarium fish with strobes/flash?

Hey, y'all.

Is it okay to photograph your fish with flash/strobes? Is it gonna freak 'em out?

I've been a professional photographer for about 20 years, but I've only been back in the fish keeping hobby for about 5 months. Cell phone pics of the pets don't turn out optimally for me, so I'm gonna start shooting fer realz.

Can I light my tank with strobes? I've got everything from "on camera" speedlights to sun killers (powerful studio strobes). Can I blast these at the fish while I'm shooting? Think it's okay to use the big'uns? Just a few shots or a few hundred?

I haven't noticed any issue with fish and the flash feature but I don't use it excessively.

The big problem is you will get a lot of glare using flash. The advice I have heard, and used, Is putting in bright aquarium lights (or turning them way up) then playing with the exposure and shutter speeds.

I would keep it to a few shots now and then instead of doing a multi hour mega session that might leave your fish shell shocked. I like to place a U-shaped frame around my Kessils to prevent them from creating glare and just go with their light without extra illumination for professional shots with my Canon 5DsR. For a quick forum shot with the cell I omit the U-frame and also just go with the aquarium lighting provided by my Kessils. If you use any flash you'll mostly have to use multiple units with a designated master, and the others as slaves, or you'll have to position them at just the right angle to prevent glare. Generally this also requires stands for the light units, in my opinion overkill for something you can accomplish without all the extra equipment with just one tripod, camera, frame for the aquarium light, and cable release.