Baking Soda question - (First Post)

quikv6

Hi all,

Please forgive my newbie question/status. I am relatively new to the hobby, and have been running a 40 long tank with Mollies and Platies for about 6 months. Needless to say, they have been multiplying, and I am considering moving to a bigger tank. (75 or 125).

- On to the context, and then the question:

I have currently been adding 1 teaspoon of baking soda per 10 gallons of water for water changes, to assist in buffering the soft NYC water, which has very little KH and a PH of around 6.6-6.8 out of the tap. (I have some crushed coral mixed in as substrate also). This method seems to yield moderate KH, with a PH of 7.6-7.8, which has been working for the livebearers. I currently do the water changes w/5 gallon buckets set up w/ baking soda the day before, but this obviously wouldn't work with a much larger tank. I would go need to go right from the tap to the tank w/the Python.

- What would be the best method of adding baking soda safely "during" a water change with the tap-to-tank method?

(Dose the tank before? Dose it after? Have a pre-mixed gallon that I very slowly pour in as it's filling?) I want to avoid any "shock" and rapid changes during/after a water change. Thanks to all in advance, and thanks to the "coop" for a wonderful forum/business/education.

Thanks Cory. I appreciate the reply. I have been changing water based off the Nitrates. It seems to result in a necessary weekly 25% change, to keep them around 20ppm. I pre-treat the water w/baking soda, let it sit a day, then test and change it. It's manageable that way, since I am only changing out 10 gallons.

With a larger tank, I suppose I can get away with less water changes. I was just worried about any PH shock when I do, since it would be a greater volume. I guess I am overthinking it.

Thanks again!