A Calcium Conundrum

Hi everyone!

This is my first time doing aquatic plants, and I am stumped!!

I have a lot of experience with fish and terrestrial plants, but never aquatic, so when I set up my new tanks I decided to give it a try.

I just started almost a month ago with a bunch of anubis and one other type I forgot the name of.

Last week the leaves started curling, in terrestrial plants that means low calcium, so I added a couple Wonder Shells. The new leaves coming in looked okish, so I didn't worry too much more about it.

I added a tiger lily and a bunch of stem plants Thursday of last week, along with some Aquarium Co-Op fertilizer tablets, and yesterday I noticed that EVERYTHING'S leaves are starting to curl!

I was a little miffed that apparently the Wonder shell wasn't working, so I bought some Equilibrium.

But before I added it, I wanted to test the GH and KH so I didn't over do it because I have ropefish and several of my breeding stock of mystery snails in the tank.

My GH is 429ppm (!!) and my KH is 35.8ppm. 

So obviously the Wonder shell *is* working, which then leads me to ask what is causing every single plant's leaves in the aquarium to curl??

Also, is that high of a GH going to hurt the ropefish? 

Additional information: I had cut back on ferts to half strength, once a week due to algea. But this week after I added the extra plants I brought it back up to the recommended dose.

Thanks in advance for any advice and assistance, I really am stumped.

Edited by TheLoreleiAquatics
Misspelling

On 3/15/2022 at 4:50 PM, TheLoreleiAquatics said:

Hi everyone!

This is my first time doing aquatic plants, and I am stumped!!

I have a lot of experience with fish and terrestrial plants, but never aquatic, so when I set up my new tanks I decided to give it a try.

I just started almost a month ago with a bunch of anubis and one other type I forgot the name of.