Can you over fertilize?

HalJ

My 50 gal tank has been set-up for about 3 months.  I have been using easy green for about two months.  My plants appear to be dying a slow death (leaves turning yellow with holes and even my moss is dying).  My nitrates have always been zero.  I dose easy green according to the instructions and have even added a little extra.

My question:  Can I increase the dosage until I hit 20-30 ppm nitrate?  I need to try something before all the plants die.  I had to remove the remains of a java fern that turned black and disintegrated.   I have zero algae.

Thanks...

I’m using eco-complete and my lighting consists of a 50 watt led.  I started this tank on a budget and used an amazon led flood light.  I saw a video where Cory tested this light and seemed to have plenty of PAR.  The packaging claims it’s 6500K, but I have no way to confirm.  It’s mounted about 12” above the water.  It’s a 50 gal corner tank that is 24” deep.

Thanks,

If you have zero algae I'm thinking the light may not be doing the trick especially that high above the water line but I only use LED lights so take that with a grain of salt. It sounds to me like you will definitely need to up your ferts I'm just not sure how its going to balance out with the light you are using maybe dose up to 10 ppm and see how it goes from there.

For what it is worth....I had a similar issue, where I would dose using Easy Green and then check nitrates (low or non-existent).  It took a day of wondering what the heck was wrong, and then I did some measuring.  I found that the pump was the problem, it was not dispensing enough liquid.  I removed the plunger from one of my many syringes i use for dosing other things, and squirted the Easy Green in there.  Found it was maybe 1/4 to 1/2 ml for each pump (1 pump should yield 1ml).  Might be worth checking, as you should be seeing nitrates after dosing, unless there is an issue with the test kit.

@HalJ You may already know this, but: