Sand or plant substrate?

Leo2o915

I am a beginner in plant keeping  ,,, I had gravel in my past aquariums and always liked the look of black sand I have  with this aquarium sand

Seachem Fluorite  Black  Sand  For Plantds and top off with some Black Diamond Blasting Sand and i love it and for the plants as long as you use liquid fertilizer and root tabs and have a light the plants do fine .. my plants are still alive now after i got the black algae controlled and my tank balanced ,,for the plants 

only thing with the Black Diamond  sand before adding it it is best to clean it with very hot water then cold water and keep washing till it is clear before adding to tank.. 

The Flourite Seachem a sand will make your water cloudy even if you wash before adding to tank but i wash it till clear before adding to tank.. 

Edited by Bev C

I prefer inert substrates except Eco Complete. You can have an amazing tank with inert substrates and I currently really dig Carib Sea Super Naturals peace river. Only the most fickle plants need an Aquasoil. Also root tabs are not necessary when using an inert substrate.

I tried an Aquasoil this year and it's been very difficult for me. Early on, you really have to keep up on water changes. Maybe at some point it gets easier, but I'm not there yet. However, the plants are growing in nicely and a few plants that did okay in Eco Complete exploded in the Aquasoil.

Edited by Mmiller2001
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

On 3/5/2022 at 5:10 PM, Mmiller2001 said:

I currently really dig Carib Sea Super Naturals peace river.

I use a mixture of the peace river and blue ridge with larger 1" river rocks for accent. I use this in all my tanks for the natural look. I use undergravel filters (along with HOB or sponge filters) to use the entire gravel bed for biological filtration. Because of the undergravel filters I don't use root tabs, just easy green in the water column.

On 3/5/2022 at 4:29 PM, Widgets said: