SkaleyAquatics - High tech practice tank

Hello all,

As fishkeeping is one of favorite hobbies and sometimes I cannot quit learning more about this hobby, I've decided to start a journal for my current and future journey to look back on, while also hoping I can provide lessons to others along the way. I have been keeping fish for roughly 15 years now but could not keep plants alive for the life of me. Up until last year when I made a decent effort to have a low tech planted aquarium, that I restarted that tank to take on this project. This tank has been setup for 3 months now but has undergone many changes and will continue to do so.  

Tank:

Standard 10 gallon (20in x 10in x 12in)

Light: 

Chihiros WRGB II 30

Filter:

Mattenfilter with aquatop 100 air pump

CO2:

2x 16oz paintball tank ( 1 in use, 1 for backup)

C02Art Pro-SE Dual stage regulator with solenoid

Co2 adapter for paintball tank

IO Diffuser

Heater:

Eheim Thermocontrol-E 50 watt

Substrate:

Seachem Flourite Black

Water:

100% RO water re-minerialized w/ CaSO4, MgS04 and K2CO3

Fertilizers:

APT Complete dosed 4x/week at 2ml per dose

Water Changes:

4 gallons/week

Plants:

Rotala H'ra

Rotala "Blood Red"

Bacopa Salzmannii 'Purple'

Ludwigia sp. 'Super Red'

Althernanthera Rosanervig 'Mini'

Micranthemum Tweediei 'Monte Carlo'

Lobelia Cardinalis

Crypt Undulatus 'Red'

Hydrophila Siamensis 53B

Bacopa Myrophylloides

Hydrocotyle Sibthorpioides

Pogostemon Helferi Downoi

Inhabitants:

Pair of Fundulopanchex Gardneri 'Makurdi'

2x Amano Shrimp

2015752543_Fulltankshot20220226.jpg.e63593f871dd015ac26c2cd44be39b57.jpg

1554309443_EmmetttheGardneri.jpg.9a1ce233de3463d70cdc5923a5404bb6.jpg

Edited by SkaleyAquatics
Fixed Spelling, added missing plant species
  • Like 2
  • Love 5

Current Tank Parameter's:

CO2: On 1.5 hours before light

Lights: 6 Hour photoperiod no ramp up/ no ramp down, intensity at 60%

pH: 7.3 with a 1.2 drop to 6.1pH - 2 hours into Co2 being turned on

gH: 7