Building up aquascape substrate

crashnburn55

I'm new to the hobby and want build up a hill as part of an aquascape in an aquarium. I saw one example that used a volcanic mineral substrate as the base of the hill then put the aqua soil on top prior to planting.  Is there a benefit, structurally or ecologically, to using a different type of substrate like the volcanic mineral substrate to build up the elevated areas, or "hills" in an aquascape if I am using Eco-Complete substrate? Could I just build up the elevated areas, or "hills" with just extra Eco-Complete substrate or am I missing something?

• Like 1

One tip is to put lava rock in media bags and use it to add height. You can use small plastic pieces and strategically placed rocks to hold the substrate as well. I am a fan of deep substrate beds as I feel more substrate I have in a tank, less problems it gives in a long run specially if you dont have good filtration. 

• Administrators

Oh yeah, I'm a big fan of 'hills' and sloped substrate as well. I do it in all my scapes as I feel it adds depth to the aquarium visually. I think I've been told the reason aquascapers use volcanic rock specifically is because it is quite porous, it doesn't allow as much anaerobic bacteria to build up beneath the surface of the substrate. It's not necessarily a bad thing to have anaerobic bacteria if the substrate remains undisturbed, but it can be problematic if the gases from the bacteria escape into the water column. Lava rock allows oxygen to flow a bit more freely and adds some minerals for the plants.

However, there are no rules. I just use inert gravel to create slopes simply because it's cheaper than using all aquasoil. For a big tank, eco complete or fluval stratum can really add up! Like Candi mentioned, aquasoil will also begin to break down after awhile (years), whereas gravel or volcanic rock will not. So it holds its shape a bit better long term.