20g long tropical community tank journal - a light at the end of the tunnel

Ponyoryx

I'm in a rigorous residency program and will be taking a boards exam in September. I'm currently working about 60 hours a week and studying in my free time. Come July, I will be studying 7 days a week. I need to have little nuggets along the way to keep me going, so I've decided that a little reward each day I'm studying is to research my future build - a 20g long that I want to be a planted tropical community tank. I am planning on putting everything together this fall once I get settled in my new home and job as a congratulations gift to myself. I've never planned a tank this complex, so I would love any advice along the way. I figured the best thing to do would be start with the stocking and plan the substrate, plants, decor and parameters around the creatures?

I am just dying to get my hands on some panda cories and CPDs. I also really want to try to keep a robust and reproductive shrimp colony. I bought a few for my heavily planted fantail 40g figuring there were plenty of hiding places, but damn can those two hunt...huge mistake.  I think I have one lone wolf (shrimp) remaining...

The attached picture is a general idea of how I want to stock this tank. I'm not 100% certain about the compatibility of these species or how many of each to keep, but I think I've covered all levels of the aquarium. I could give or take the cardinal tetras, but I've heard great things about them. Once I decide my stocking plan, my future journal entries will be deciding other factors like substrate, plants, decor, stand, etc. 

stocking.JPG

• Like 1
  • Love 1

I'm right there with you as far as planning my next tank, which will also be a 20 long. I'm planning for panda cories, maybe pygmy  cories, shrimp and snails, so I'm excited to see how your journey goes. I'll probably learn a lot about what I should and shouldn't do. Thank you for starting this! 

• Like 1