Catalpa (Cattapa) aka Indian Almond Leaves

dmurray407

I got a few leaves and now I'm wondering what to do with them 🙂 I've been looking for a "tutorial" on how to use them. I got them to put in my shrimp tank, but it sounds like they are good for all sorts of tanks. I guess the big question is-is there any type of tank I shouldn't put them in? Could they go into my quarantine tank with Panda Cory's and Rasboras? (I did just come across a Coop Blog article on Indian Almond Leaves. https://www.aquariumcoop.com/blogs/aquarium/indian-almond-leaves)

Edited by dmurray407

I am no expert here, but from my knowledge they can be used in almost any tank. What they do is release tannins in the water. Tannins are good because they help prevent fungal infection and other diseases. As the leaves break down they also create biofilm which your shrimp will eat. It can lower your pH, however I'm not sure if a single leave would make a noticeable difference and it would depend on how many you use. Off the top of my head the only thing I can think of that you may not want to use them for would be Rift Lake cichlids, although once again I am not an expert and this too may be fine. Panda Cory's and Rasbora, no problem, the environment they come from has lots of decaying vegetation in it. 

• Like 1

You can use Indian almond leaves in most tank I add them to all my tanks as they have antibacterial and antifungal properties and I like the look of leaf litter and my Bristlenose enjoy them if your using them to treat a sick fish you have to add a lot of almond leaves 1leaf per gallon to get the benefial effects

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

My pandas love them. I stick them to a suction cup with zip ties on the back wall inside  instead of using a background. My panda LOVE to lay their eggs in them. Unless it’s a fussy high ph etc etc fish you can use them. You might even be able to use them with fussy fish I don’t know though. 

• Like 1