Air pump question

Blaha

you might want to also consider what the checkvalve is for.  If its just to protect the pump then either is fine.  If you want to prevent an accidental disconnect from siphoning out your tank you may want one valve for each tank located right before the tube enters the tank.  depending on how everything is arranged one or the other may be sufficient or optimal.

• Like 1

Well right now I have the 2 filters running on USB nano pumps each and got this because this new pump is stronger than 2 nano pumps, take less outlets and space/cord management stuff. I've never done a split airline before though and wanted some advice. The pump sits in the stand under the tank. The main point will be to protect the pump but also I want to make sure I'm not creating too much back pressure or creating a very uneven distribution of air to either sponge.

Since the new pump is so strong, you may end up with more air than you want. I would put a T close to the output of the pump. One side of the T would go to the tank, and the other side would have a shutoff valve that can be used to let any excess air escape. The side that goes to the tank would have another T with shutoff valves on each side, then check valves on each side (preferably above the water line) and on to your sponge filters.

At first, the escape valve should be fully closed and the other valves fully open. If there is too much air you can slowly open the escape valve to reduce the air going into the tank. You can use the other two valves to balance the flow between the two sponge filters.

This may be overkill. You can omit all the valves and the extra T, but having them will let you dial in the air to your preferences.

• Like 1