Betta not getting better

Bethany92

We purchased a betta in July/August, it’s my 3yo’s first fish and he named him Silly. I am brand new to keeping fish, tried researching as much as I could but unfortunately my lack of knowledge may be causing his early death. I noticed his fins were torn up, so I completely re-did his tank - got different substrate and new silk plants and removed any sharp edges on them. Unfortunately, I didn’t understand cycling a tank and just used TopFin water conditioner and TopFin bacteria starter thinking it would be fine and did complete water changes every month and washed everything in his 5gal tank off in hot water. The tank was also an issue as it had a back panel to hide the filter which was too much for him, even on the lowest setting that the company said was safe for bettas. Since discovering Aquarium Co-op, I’ve removed that back panel, got a sponge filter and am currently trying to cycle that tank for when (or if) he recovers. I also have plans for getting live plants instead of the fake ones I have now. I still need ammonia and ammonia test strips. Now, he’s in a 1.5 gal “hospital” tank as of yesterday. I had done a week of BettaFix while he was in his normal tank not realizing it was a waste of money, I ended that on Wednesday of this week. I started him on Maracyn yesterday when I moved him to the small tank. I used the same water and put rocks in the tank with him. I’ve also been adding the bacteria starter about 12 hours after the maracyn. He perked up yesterday but today he’s floating at the top of the tank like he’s dead but he’s not dead. He also ate this morning. I added a few pictures including the most recent test strip of the water he’s currently in, as well as the hospital tank set up. I also believe he is losing his slime coat as there’s white stuff peeling off of him like we peel after a sunburn. And his tank temp is at 77 F