Fast

Fast

I am new to the aquarium community . I have a 10 gallon tank with gravel outside filter, plastic plants. I got the tank going did quick start on the bottle it said you can put fish in right away , I have air stone in the tank clear water ph at 7.2 the water is hard so the next day I went out and got some hardy fish Zebra something all died, went to the fish store with a water sample they told me ammonia was high to use quick start for the next 4 days then every things should be fine, well 4 days goes by I did what they said again I buy some hardy fish put them in and bang all but one dies I got an api ammonia test shows ammonia at 1.0 , I do not have the ability to get a sponge filter from a seeded tank nor gravel from same so my question is what do I do now cape crusaders?  

I suggest you read the articles regarding cycling and ammonia at aquariumscience.org. Sometimes it is helpful to think of the process as cycling your filter rather than cycling the aquarium. The filter is where 90%-plus of your beneficial bacteria will reside.

Bacteria-in-a-bottle products don't work. I know they say you can add fish right away, but that is not true. If it were true, nobody would ever bother with any other method of cycling. They would just pour the bacteria in the tank and go.

It is sad, but in this hobby, you cannot believe everything you read on a label.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

On 2/9/2022 at 6:29 AM, Fast said:

. . . so my question is what do I do now cape crusaders?  

You need to get your tank cycled.  You can do a fishless cycle, or a fish-in cycle.  Both will require fairly frequent testing, so I'd suggest getting a way to test your water at home instead of needing to take it to the store for testing.  Many people like the API liquid tests, but get something to test at least ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates.

While many people will disagree, I prefer fish-in.