Lets see your brine shrimp hatcheries

pedrofisk

I used an old whiskey bottle for mine, a topfin betta heater for temp control, and the Co-op metal valves work very well for this. I wanted to make a glass one just for fun, I guess I have a little more confidence with a heater in it since it's glass. I swear it actually looks nice when it's clean!

20200716_202950.jpg.635451cc805bebc2660bff6d3d25b9ca.jpg

@Bill Smith

Wow, very nice. Counter top pretty.

Edited by TheDukeAnumber1
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1
  • Haha 1

I have been using this setup for the last 13 years.

20200717_1354.JPG.e3cc63a290292486e2862ebc6727fff3.JPG

I dump the oldest of the 3 cones everyday and then setup a fresh batch. That way I always have brine shrimp in one of 3 categories.

1. Too old
  2. Too young
  3. Just right!

If I was starting now I would probably go with the Ziss hatchery.

@Bill Smith's hatchery setup above is absolutely mind boggling!

• Like 7

2 hours ago, Daniel said:

Totally,

Walk over, pullout rigid air tube, dump into sink, rinse cone, refill water, add a little less than 2 tablespoons marine salt, add 1/8 teaspoon eggs and done. 1 minute or so usually.

Do you shine a light at it form below or something to separate the shrimp from the eggs? There's always that waiting period...

20 hours ago, MickS77 said:

I've been using the Ziss hatchery for a few months now. Overall I'm very happy with it, I don't hate the stand. I'm considering spray painting the outside with black krylon fusion. I have trouble getting the BBS to settle with the ambient light in my basement. 

20200716_190610.jpg

Can you give me a rough idea of the height of the ziss hatchery including the base? I'm trying to think of a good place for it, where it can be kept warm.

8 minutes ago, Robin said:

Can you give me a rough idea of the height of the ziss hatchery including the base? I'm trying to think of a good place for it, where it can be kept warm.